Serena Rounds Out Final Four | 03 September 2014

World No 1 reaches her 6th straight US Open Championships semi-final

World No 1 reaches her 6th straight US Open Championships semi-final

Former World No.4 Mary Joe Fernandez has been recognized with the 2014 US Tennis Association Award

Former World No.4 Mary Joe Fernandez has been recognized with the 2014 US Tennis Association Award

NEW YORK, NY, USA – Serena Williams rebounded after a slow start against Flavia Pennetta and moved through to the semifinals of the US Open. If she wins that semifinal, she’s going to Singapore.

The No.11-seeded Pennetta came out on fire in the feature night match on Arthur Ashe Stadium, breaking twice en route to a 3-0 lead. The No.1-seeded Williams rebounded in a big way, though, winning the next six games in a row – and 12 of the next 14 games – to dust off a 6-3, 6-2 victory

Williams was asked in her on-court interview about Pennetta’s flying start to the match.

“I felt she was playing really well,” Williams said. “I didn’t feel like I was doing too much wrong out there, and that if she kept it up, she absolutely deserved the win. But I just kept trying to do better.”

Awaiting Williams in the semifinals is No.17 seed Ekaterina Makarova, who defeated No.16 seed and two-time US Open finalist Victoria Azarenka earlier, 6-4, 6-2 (read more about that match here).

“I’ve played two lefties already this tournament and I often practice with Varvara, who’s a lefty, and I think that’s been good for me, so I’m ready for another lefty,” Williams said. “I think it will be a good match. She’s beaten me before. I’m obviously going to just try and do the best I can.”

Williams didn’t just lose to Makarova, she lost to her at a major – at the Aussie Open in 2012.

“Makarova moves well. She doesn’t care who she plays, she gives 100%. Those types of players are often difficult to play because it makes them better. She also has that serve that can go out wide, or you never know where it’s going to go. She has a great backhand and she’s improved her forehand.

WTA Tennis

Menzi Kulati.

#BringBackOurGirls

Leave a Reply

