Raina blasts 62-ball 109* as CSK win CLT20 2014 title | October 4, 2014

Suresh Raina blazed his way to an unbeaten 62-ball 109

Suresh Raina blazed his way to an unbeaten 62-ball 109

Suresh Raina blazed his way to an unbeaten 62-ball 109 to power Chennai Super Kings to their second Champions League T20 (CLT20) title here tonight at M Chinnaswamy Stadium. With this triumph, CSK halted KKR’s 14-match unbeaten run.


Chasing 181 to win the final, CSK romped home by 8 wickets with 9 balls to spare. Captain MS Dhoni finished the game in style, with a six, reminiscent of the 2011 World Cup final.

CSK became only the second team in CLT20 history to win two titles. The Dhoni-lead side had won in 2010. Mumbai Indians had won in 2011 and 2013.

On a perfect batting pitch, KKR needed more than 200 to contain the batting power of CSK. With Raina in full flow, KKR spinners were taken to the cleaners including the young left-arm chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav, who was was included in the Indian team earlier today.

Raina blasted 6 fours and 8 huge sixes. The left-hander reached to 100 off 59 balls. He was severe on Kuldeep, hitting him for 3 big sixes. Brendon McCullum scored a 30-ball 39 and Dhoni was unbeaten with 23 off 14.

Earlier, KKR made a good start but finished poorly. Left-arm spinner Pawan Negi was the star with the ball with outstanding figures of 5/22 in 4 overs. Captain Gautam Gambhir proved his worth as a big match player again, smashing a 52-ball 80 (7×4, 3×6).

Gambhir and his partner Robin Uthappa (39, 32 balls, 4×4, 1×6) put on 91 runs for the opening wicket in 10.5 overs. But Negi weaved his magic in the second half of the innings as KKR faltered in their bid to scale 200.

CLT20 Champions

2009 – New South Wales Blues

2010 – CSK

2011 – Mumbai Indians

2012 – Sydney Sixers

2013 – MI

2014 – CSK

via thatsCRICKET


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s